THE CATSHIP by Mickey Ray

THE CATSHIP
By Mickey Ray
Gnarled, wrinkled hands
Like wizened oaks
Smell of camphor and lilac
And sometimes death
As they evoke purring
With loving if not final strokes
I hear your plea
Release is but a breath away
Ahoy! Let me guide you there
I know the way
Clouded orbs of watery blue
Behind opaque glass eyes
Stare ahead or out through windows
Filled with nothing
Searching for a final path
Of painless bliss and joyful reunions
I leave your lap
And pad softly to your face
Ahoy! Let me guide you there
I know the way
I give you my secret name
In rumbled words that
Pass into your hands
As only cats can do
Gentle ever so gentle
The rise and fall of your breath
You bring me to your lips
You call my name and ask to go
Ahoy! Let me guide you there
I know the way
I take your spirit into myself
I leap from your bed of ills
Away from that couch of frailty
You join with me
And the others who have been waiting
Now you know the secret of
Nine lives
Not far the journey now
One passenger to go
Ahoy! Let me guide you there
I know the way
The living world will make your bed
And mourn their loss
Rejoice! You cry, my journey begins
They cannot read our knowing grin
As to another uneasy soul
The cat and you, with six along
Climb upon that ancient lap
Our chorus soothes his weary mind
Ahoy! Let me guide you there
I know the way
We rise in purring song to crying lips
You, the six and I shall say our secret name
For the final journey
The ninth now joins the Catship’s crew
My cargo is complete
The heaven’s ocean is sailing calm
And amorphous waves beacon us to Eternal Bliss
This is the work of the cat
Ahoy! Let me guide you there
I know the way
About mickeyray

Openly gay, actor, singer, writer and artist.
This entry was posted in My Imagination. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

